Wednesday, April 5, 2006

Wblock supports saving down to older versions in AutoCAD 2007

To make it easier for those needing to work with older file formats of DWG files you have been able to automatically save to older versions. Now the Wblock command also respects this setting. It's also possible to manually specify the file type in Wblock (Write Block) using the browse for file name and path dialog box. The setting is available at Tools>Options>Open and Save>Save as.

When reference editing a drawing it keeps the version of the xreffed drawing. You will get this dialog box message if you Refedit (reference edit) something other than a 2007 DWG: "The Xref selected references a previous drawing file format. Edits saved back to the Xref file will be in the release format of the referenced drawing file."

These are good news for companies that might not be able to upgrade all users to AutoCAD 2007 at the same time and having to use older versions during a transition time.

1 comment:

  1. Restored comments

    R.K. McSwain said...

    I can repeat this bug here. Anyone else want to try?

    1. Set your save format to R14.

    2. Wblock something out without changing the filename

    3. Check the output file in Notepad.

    4. The first 6 characters are "AC1014" (or R14 format)

    5. So far, so good.

    6. Now wblock out something again.

    7. This time, pick the button next to the file name to browse directories, and choose a directory.

    8. Check the output file in Notepad.

    9. The first 6 characters are "AC1021" (or 2007 format)
    April 05, 2006
    JTB World said...

    I could not reproduce it here. Anyone else?
    April 05, 2006
    Anonymous said...

    I was able to reproduse this behavior. The same thing happens when 2000 format is set as the default.

    I noticed some other strange behavior while testing this. When I tried to save the wblock as "new block" in 2007 while I had the drawing open in 2006 I did not get any warnings. The new block was not created because the file was open in 2006 but I had no way of knowing that. I tried the same thing in 2006 while "new Block" was open and I got a small dialog that stated "Error writing/closing file".
    May 30, 2006

    ReplyDelete

Some of the latest blog posts

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner