Tuesday, February 6, 2007

Change AutoCAD from standalone to network

I post this for my own memory as with much else on this blog but it might as well be useful for you. Use the registry and change Type at this location. (change the x depending on version and vertical/flavor. For example AutoCAD 2007 is R17.0\ACAD-5001:409).

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Autodesk\AutoCAD\Rxx.x\ACAD-xxxx:xxx\AdLM] "Type"=dword:00000019

19=network license NLM
2a=standalone licence SLM

Using the registry hack with AutoCAD 2009 and later the cascading licensing service doesn’t install, so cascading will not work when converted from SLM to NLM. If you install network version and convert to SLM then PLU doesn’t install and user will not be able to transfer his license.

See also Change AutoCAD network to standalone to network on how to get the cascading licensing service installed.

UPDATE: For newer versions take a look at How to change AutoCAD from network license to standalone, Change AutoCAD 2013 from Network license to Standalone and Change AutoCAD 2014 from Network license to Standalone


  1. This is something new with AutoCAD 2010 as the registry key values have changed.

    No longer is there a 2a=stand-alone and 19=network. Now it is simply 1=network 2=stand-alone.

  2. Any news on this front for 2011 versions?

  3. Not sure, either how it is for AutoCAD 2011 or AutoCAD 2012.

  4. 2012: 1=Network, 2=Stand-alone


Some of the latest blog posts

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner

Contact Us | About JTB World | Subscribe to this blog
JTB World's website | Website General Terms of Use | Privacy Policy
^ Top of page

© 2004- JTB World. All rights reserved.