Monday, April 28, 2008

Foreign DWG File

Here is a new dialog box in AutoCAD 2009 that shows up if you open a DWG file that was saved by an application that was not developed or licensed by Autodesk.

Foreign DWG File

Something new is if you check the box to make sure you don't get a message like this again you can at any time restore it through Options>System>Hidden Message Settings.

Hidden Message Settings

At the bottom of the Hidden Message Settings dialog box you can also see a full preview of what the message look like.

For more information on TrustedDWG: http://www.autodesk.com/trusteddwg

4 comments:

  1. I get this nagging dialog box even when I tick the "always open DWG file even when I ...." in every new session of Autocad 2009.

    Is there a way to kill this dialog box permanently since I don't care if my drawings are trusted or foreign.

    Thanks a lot. Your posts have always been very helpful.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi,
    If it doesn't work for you my guess is that the settings cannot be saved for some reason.
    They need to be saved in this file:
    %APPDATA%\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2009\R17.2\enu\Support\Profiles\FixedProfile.aws
    If you don't have full rights to save to this file there you have the solution. You need rights to save to it.
    You can try to manually open it in Notepad and just save it to try if it works.

    ReplyDelete
  3. A user in our office just received a newer PC (a cascade from another user). Before deploying it, I uninstalled the previous instance of AutoCAD LT 2008, and then installed AutoCAD LT 2009. When the user now opens any DWG file--including all of those created in-house with AutoCAD LT 2008 or 2009, this error comes up. There's nothing foreign about the files. He previously had LT 2009 on his old machine, but it never game him problems.

    The user in configured as an Administrator on the PC, so access to the configuration file is not an issue. Any ideas? I found very few hits for this problem when I searched.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Andrew, so if the user creates a new drawing from scratch, closes it and opens it he got the dialog box? If that is the case it sounds like a bug. A repair or reinstall might help. I have not heard of this before though.

    ReplyDelete

Some of the latest blog posts

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner